Mint and Lime Quinoa Salad

26 Apr

I’ve been making this salad lately its quick, tasty, contains a superfood and is a fab accompaniment to BBQ meats especially lamb.

If you follow me on twitter you’ll be aware that I made a holy show of myself recently attempting to cook quinoa. I added 1 cup grain, 2 cups water and brought to the boil for 7 min but the grain wasn’t performing as usual, that is to puff up and become somewhat translucent .. so I continued to boil it … and boil it and boil it! I was SWEATING as my guests were arriving in no time. It was only after a number of very panicked tweets asking had anyone else EVER had UNCOOKABLE quinoa did the dreadful truth dawn on me…. Wait for it …. I had picked up the wrong bag and was boiling .. SESAME SEEDS. I did not know whether to laugh or cry … I seriously considered deleting my twitter account such was public shame! But there were more pressing matters … my guests were still going to arrive so I had to burst off to the supermarket to acquire some actual quinoa (of course there was only frightfully expensive organic sort in kilo bags for sale…of course!!!!) ..everything worked out fine, the salad was gorgeous and I had a great story to tell over dinner. I did however look like I’d been dragged through a ditch backwards as I’d spent my allotted “getting ready time” rally driving back from the supermarket!

The lessons learned are as follows: 1. No matter how much you cooked sesame seeds they will not become quinoa 2. If buying your grains/seeds in bulk and inclined to be an eejet, label the bags!

Mint and Lime Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Juice from 2 limes
A handful of fresh mint leaves chopped
A handful of fresh corinader or italian parsley chopped
Sea salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste
A handful of cherry or grape tomatoes, quartered
2 tablespoons diced red onion- or use 2 chopped spring onions
1 garlic clove, minced
Instructions:
Boil the quinoa in 2 cups fresh water with a pinch of salt for seven minutes
Drain, retaining as much water as possible, topping up with boiling water from the kettle. (There needs to be sufficient water to steam and not dry out, but not so much that the sieve is sitting in the water)
Steam the quinoa for a further 7 min in the sieve over the boiling water, cover with a double layer of kitchen paper and place saucepan lid on top. This will result in lovely fluffy and light quinoa.
Scoop the cooked quinoa into a bowl and add the remaining ingredients. Toss lightly with a fork until combined.
Taste test and adjust seasonings.
Cover and chill.
This salad can be eaten warm (as it was in the story above) but is also really good cold and lasts a few days in the fridge
Adapted from this recipe 
Enjoy
SJ x
6 Responses to “Mint and Lime Quinoa Salad”

  1. Paula April 26, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Can we has a picture? Something that we can aspire to :) Really love the sound of this, it’s almost like mojito-quinoa, I might try adding a little rum. No point in waiting for barbeque weather over here, the grill will have to suffice for the meat.

    • Sarah-Jane April 26, 2013 at 11:34 am #

      Nothing lasts long enough to photograph in this madhouse anymore! But if you check out the link that inspired me you’ll get an idear! Grilled meat is just as good and no fear of the mosquito population sneaking in the door while you’re checking the BBQ. Xx

  2. Maria May 3, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    Sounds great – love quinoa. Made a chicken, walnut and celery quinoa salad this eve. Must try out your tip for fluffiness though. M

    • Sarah-Jane June 18, 2013 at 2:33 am #

      Loving the sound of your salad Maria! Walnut and celery always reminds me of Waldorf salad at family parties as a child … I am going to try a quinoa version with some grated apple! I’ll keep you posted xx

  3. Elizabeth MacDonnell June 20, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    I have tears running down my face reading this….so funny and scarily like something I’d do!! I love your writing style…very relaxed, like you are in the room telling the story…brilliant.
    Recipe looks very good, have been dying to try out a quick quinoa recipe so this will be the one!

    • Sarah-Jane July 1, 2013 at 4:16 am #

      Oh Elizabeth it was terrible, I’m so silly! Glad you enjoyed the story though ;)
      Let me know how you get on if you try the recipe, I’ve been making it at least once a week since .. its just fab with steak, burgers or lamb chops. I added in chunks of roasted pumpkin one day which was really good too and almost a meal in itself.
      Thanks so much for commenting
      SJ x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

