Party Foods Ideas

23 Aug
It must be party season as I’ve had two lovely readers of my blog ask me for some ideas for party food/nibbles in the last 24 hours. I am no expert but I was flattered to be asked so here are some ideas, hope you like them.
I always endeavour to have party food as relaxed as possible .. so lots of helping yourself and different tastes keeps everyone interested and can be good to break the ice without interrupting the flow of conversation!
 – Hummus is always a winner, the recipe on my blog is my favourite and lately I’ve been adding extra smoked paprika and cayenne pepper for a new dimension! Serve with crackers, toasted sourdough or veggies (sticks of carrots, celery, red capsicums/peppers are very appealing on the eye and great to munch on!)
 - Roasted chickpeas are so tasty and crunchy, a great nibble to have with drinks and chats – soak more chickpeas than you need for the hummus, dry them off and pop on a tray in the oven with some oil (I use coconut but olive is good) and spices. Here’s what Martha Stewart says but don’t be afraid to play around with the spices, you can’t go wrong.
 - Creamy Salmon Dip – this is a recipe my lovely Aunty Sally makes for parties & its gorgeous! 1 tin red salmon, 1 foil packet full fat philidelphia – whizz together then add juice of a lemon and 5/6 drops tabasco. Whizz again and serve with crackers!
 – Smoked salmon on brown bread – Always a winner and a stable of the Hurley homestead! Finger size slices of good brown bread (or your favourite type), real butter, smoked salmon with wedges of lemon on the side and sprinkle over some capers if you like those little fellas! Very easy to assemble.
 – Guacamole / Pico de Gallo – The key with avocados is plenty of salt, fresh coriander and lime juice! My Aussie cousin adds cherry tomato halves to her guac and its really good for picnics and parties. There is no definite recipe for this but as a guide try mixing together 2 avocados (mashed), 1 chilli sliced, handful coriander chopped, clove garlic squished, juice of 2 limes, 2 pinches of salt and 5 cherry tomatoes halved! For me, the more rustic the better but its totally up to you. Tip: If making in advance leave the stone from the avocado in the bowl, it will prevent it going brown/discolouring.
 – Cheese board – I use a wooden chopping board, 3 cheeses (don’t stress about the types but a cheddar, a brie and a blue work well. There are no rules!), sliced pear/apple, some grapes/strawberries and some nuts will look fab and there’ll be something for everyone. Place a few knives on the board, some crackers nearby and let everyone help themselves. Its real DIY nibbly food and people will go back time and time again.
-Salted Caramel Haloumi and Apple – this recipe is on my blog and is so simple to make its always a shock how tasty it is! Cut the haloumi and apple smaller than usual and serve with toothpicks on the side to everyone can spear a bit of each and get the full yummy effect!
- Caprese on a stick! – I love these as they look pretty. On a toothpick put one small mozzerella ball , one cherry tomato and a leaf of basil in between. A mouthful of beautiful fresh caprese salad.

Lots of colour to attract the eyes and simple flavours to satisfy the tastebuds!

What are your favourite party foods?

Enjoy x

6 Responses to “Party Foods Ideas”

  1. Beanie August 23, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    Some great ideas – Even for a non-cheese eater, I do like the idea of the ‘Caprese on a Stick’ – it sounds really pretty!!

    • Sarah-Jane August 23, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      I’m racking my brain trying to think of a similar non dairy suggestion … So far I have something with melon and mint leaves, which work really well together, maybe a strawberry too! :)

  2. Emma (fluff and fripperies) August 23, 2013 at 8:16 am #

    That Salted Caramel Haloumi and Apple suggestion sounds absolutely divine!

    • Sarah-Jane August 23, 2013 at 8:18 am #

      Emma you have to try it! Let me know when you do :)

  3. Maria August 23, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    Hummus served in endive leafs look great – I call them boats and sprinkle with smoked paprika! Also I find a large antipasti platter served with grissini sticks is very rustic and works well. Just leave a stack of mismatched china side plates beside it to let guests help themselves.

    • Sarah-Jane August 23, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      Great ideas Maria!
      I do love antipasti myself but as I am now sugarfree I find it hard to get cured meats which don’t contain sugar, or indeed olives for that matter! I do get some good chorizo now and then for a treat though :)
      Smoked paprika is great with the hummus, love the smokey flavour!
      Mismatched china is so cute … people are lucky to get a plate at all in this house though, everyone will want to visit you now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

