Beauty-FULL!

27 Aug

I love a good beauty product and I have been known to go totally nuts buying, use a couple of times and leave to gather dust while I continue to use what I already had! I don’t think I am alone in this, am I???

However, my recent long term unemployment put a total and abrupt stop to all purchases of the luxury sort and to my horror I had to survive with what I had plus the extras my lovely sisters would send me … if you don’t have sisters like mine you are missing out, they are amazing (and hopefully reading!). I of course did survive but a little bit of me died not being able to have shiny new things to make me pretty, but I suppose I did have a tan pretty much all the time which helps!

Now that I am once again financially liquid I can have the odd splurge/investment but I have to say unbeknownst to myself I’ve become more risk adverse when it comes to new products … I am researching lots before buying and impulse purchases no longer seem to be in me! It was a shock to me too but perhaps its old age combined with experiencing a recession? Or am I just getting boring? Oh GAWD!

Anyways … I came across this great post from new Irish website Frillseeker yesterday and it really is packed full of great reccomendations for all types of beauty products from Irish Beauty Bloggers. What I really like about this is that you can see the lady in question so for the lipsticks in particular you can judge if you have the same colouring/skin tones and whether that particular shade might suit you.

FRILLSEEKER

Some of my own favourite products and brands are listed here such as:

La Roche Posay. You all need to get the Cicaplast Baume its a wonder product for everything from dry skin to chaffing/heat rash from exercise! Also great for nappy rash I believe so a family friendly one.

MAC lipsticks. MAC in general is a love of mine especially their blushes and brushes. I have Rebel and now Lady Danger lippies on my wishlist.

Rimmel Kate Moss lipsticks. These are cheap and really good! They don’t make you skeletal like Kate herself which was such a relief πŸ˜‰

Benefit They’re Real mascara. I just adore this product, I always feel my eyes look so much better with it on. The brush took me some time to get used to and I stabbed myself a few times but now I don’t think I’ll ever use anything else.

YSL Touche Eclat foundation. This is a beautiful foundation, it makes my skin glowy and isn’t too heavy (freckles are still visible through it which I like). The bottle is huge and lasts for ages.

Products I need to get after reading this article:

Seche Vite – this is a top coat for nails that dries really quickly so fantastic for silly billies like me that start painting their nails after they have called a taxi or just before they need to find something in a handbag or go to bed hence ruining all the good work!

Cocoa Brown tan – this has been developed my Irish beauty therapist Marissa Carter and everyone is raving about it, I will be picking up a bottle when I am home in December to try next Winter. Its really affordable and can be washed off a couple of hours after application so no need for smelly sleeping! There is an accompanying scrub called Tough Stuff that also sounds right up my street. I love a good scrub and have been body brushing with vigour lately in anticipation of 7 months on the beach. Yes I did that on purpose. Emigrants are soooo annoying aren’t they?

I’ve been using some lovely Australian products lately too so I might do a post on some of them soon too …. give the blog a little break from food!

Ok peeps have a good look at this and tell me what you think? What are your favourite beauty products? What can you not live without? Please comment as I love hearing everyone else’s opinions and I hate missing out on wonder products!

 

 

15 Responses to “Beauty-FULL!”

  1. lipstickhoney August 27, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    MAC have just released a new mascara to rival Benefit’s They’re Real, it’s fantastic and slightly cheaper (at least it was in England) I don’t know when it’ll be available in Aus x

    • Sarah-Jane August 27, 2013 at 12:19 am #

      Fab!!
      Does it have a similar plastic brush?? This is exciting!
      Did you buy many other new products on your holidays to Europe?

      • lipstickhoney August 27, 2013 at 8:03 am #

        Yep, the brush is similar, a tiny bit thinner but still quite thick when compared to a ‘normal’ wand size. The formula is thicker than the Benefit version & is harder to take off.
        I found my PERFECT red lipstick, it’s MAC Cockney & it’s a gorgeous colour with a hint of sparkle. I’m overjoyed with it!

      • Sarah-Jane August 27, 2013 at 8:06 am #

        There really is nothing like a great lippie to lift the mood, well done you!
        I’ll keep the MAC mascara in mind and while we’re in it any good cleansers? I’ve always used Liz Earle cleanse and polish but need to get one I can buy in Perth, suggestions welcome. I like thick creams I can take off with hot water and muslin cloth!

  2. Lisa H August 27, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    I second La Roche Posay Baume, amazing stuff, I often use it as a facemask when Im feeling a bit dehydrated. My absolute favourite product at the moment is Revlon ColourStay foundation. Its amazing and has made me put my beloved MAC Studio Fix on the shelf…… How are you getting on with Skin Brush?

  3. Maria Keating August 27, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    I love all Murad products! They are all brilliant! A new fake tan Karora is brilliant and leaves a really natural looking colour! Oh and Smashbox photo finish primer!

    • Sarah-Jane August 27, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Photo finish is a product I used swear by, no idea why I stopped using it! Loved the finish it gave and great holding power. Do you use a number of products from the Murad range?

      • Maria Keating August 27, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

        I use a lot of Murad products! I use the AHA/BHA exfoliator, skin perfecting day cream SPF 30, skin perfecting lotion, hydrating toner and essential C eye cream! I’m a fan and a little goes a really long way and it really suits my acne prone skin

  4. Paula August 27, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    Seche Vite is the best addition to my life since they brought back the Wispa!

  5. Caroline August 27, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I love the cocoa brown tan Sj,I just started using it this summer.it’s got a lot going for it versus other tans….it looks very natural on my fair skin,it doesn’t smell,it comes up within an hour when you have to shower again,it fades really well and the best bit is it’s less than €7. you have to buy it when you are home!

    • Sarah-Jane August 27, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Sold!!
      It seems like the perfect tan, delighted its Irish made.
      Thanks for commenting Caroline hope you’re enjoying the blog πŸ™‚

  6. Paula August 27, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    Recently discovered MUFE Aqua Brows and can’t get enough of it – it’s not for the natural look however, it’s all about the strong defined brow!

    • Sarah-Jane August 27, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      Interesting! My eyebrows suffered dreadfully during my unemployment I really need to find a good threading place here. So is this Make Up Forever product similar to a wax or more like a brow powder?

  7. Aoife August 27, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    Damn it SJ this is going to cost me! ps. Your sister recently displayed the benefits of the cocoa brown tan at the gathering… this is at the top of my list now!

    • Sarah-Jane August 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      You can’t put a price on beauty Aoife!
      Glad to hear they are upholding standards in my absence πŸ˜‰ will deffo be bringing stocks of CB back with me!
      What other products do you love??

Leave a comment