The Trip to Tipp …

26 May

Tipperary is not a county I have spent allot of time in but in spending a weekend down there to visit The Old Convent  I got to have a nice look around the southern part of the county .. some highlights were:

Beautiful moist fishcakes with a cous cous salad and chive beurre ... YUM

A delicious lunch in Cafe Hans in Cashel – I had heard many good things about the restaurant Chez Hans from both my sister who had lived in the area and my friend Chocco with whom we were spending the weekend so it was a lovely treat to visit this cafe which is owned by the same family (and is literally next door ..possibly even adjoined).  For girls who were going for an 8 course meal later that day we didn’t hold back … everything was amazing, truly! Great service too and a really lovely buzzy atmosphere..

Place Mat at Cafe Hans. 2 Fat Ladies .. ahem!

Yummy breads ..

Steak sandwich with mushroom cream sauce .. VERY NICE

Sticky Toffee Pudding with Butterscotch Ice Cream .. YIP it was YUM!

Mango Sauce wi Strawberries and eh I can't rem but I think it was a frozen yoghurt? I do remember we didn't leave any 😉

There was one other main course of Pan Fried Hake which I forgot to photograph .. we shared everything (its a rule with me, no exceptions made) and everything was eaten! A really lovely little find that I would reccomend to anyone visiting the town of Cashel.. its also right beside the Rock of Cashel so I went up and checked it out for the Queen….

The following day we attempted to walk off  TWO LARGE MEALS with a little jaunt to the Swiss Cottage in Cahir…

so after that I was starving as you can imagine …

then we visited the very beautiful Mount Melleray Abbey (which is in Co. Waterford I was asked to stress) in order to save our mortal souls …

Mount Melleray Abbey.

Back over The Vee …

A  quick jump on a trampoline ……

And a really fabulous 24 hours in Tipperary was over …

Leave a Reply

