Taste of Summer and an All Irish Breakfast

11 Jun

Quickie before I head off to Taste of Dublin in the Iveagh Gardens …

A couple of weeks ago (after much googling and tweeting about it ..) I managed to get my hands on some Irish Buffalo Mozzeralla from Toonsbridge Dairy in Macroom Co Cork. The Real Olive Co are selling it from their market stalls, one of which is Coppinger Row on Thursdays, its sold at present in small mozz balls in a mix with sundried tomatoes and basil (or bay-zil as the annoying one on Come Dine with Me Ireland said this week!!) .. This container almost full was €5.

Irish Buffalo Mozzeralla & Sundried Tomatoes from The Real Olive Co

This mozzerella is really tasty and a beautiful firm texture, most of it I will admit I ate straight form the container with me fingers .. I know I know I was dragged up! But some did make it onto lovely Soul Bakery Spelt Bread with leftover roast chicken and under the grill for a couple of minutes …

This morning I popped into Lilliput Stores, Arbour Hill with the intention of picking up some of Le Levains fabulous sourdough bread and what did I spy?? Toonsbridge Dairy Buffalo Milk Soft Cheese very reasonably priced at €2.50. Breakfast this morning just  took on a whole new level of Irishness .. what a way to start the day ?

Le Levain Sourdough, Ed Hicks Bacon Jam and Toonsbridge Soft Cheese.

Yes I have just discovered Instagram on my iPhone .. prepare to be inundated with cool photos.

Happy Weekend Y’all x

5 Responses to “Taste of Summer and an All Irish Breakfast”

  1. vickscakes June 13, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    what is instragram?? can’t wait to hear about the bacon jam – sounds yum…the baby mozz looks yummy, where do you buy the sourdough spelt bread. I get the one in market in midleton, yummy sourdough from arbutus – yum x

    • Sarah-Jane June 13, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      Its an app on iPhone for taking photos and then editing .. might be on your galaxy too have a look.
      Bacon Jam is seriously good, you should try and get some .. yum!
      The Irish Mozz and Soft Cheese from Buffalo Milk is really good .. brought it home yesterday and Dad loved it with the bacon jam too.
      I got sourdough from Le Levain in Lilliput Stores in Stoneybatter .. That spelt bread is from Soul Bakery & got it in Centra!! Its in Supervalu too.

  2. TheGlutton June 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Hello!!!! Delighted to see your blog 🙂 And I see you are another than managed to get hold of the now infamous Bacon Jam!

    • Sarah-Jane June 13, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      Oh I sure did, am mad about it! Will need to get a consistent supply to feed my habit 😉

  3. Hermia June 15, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    That sounds amazing! It’s probably my favourite cheese…I could genuinely eat buckets of it!

Leave a Reply

