How does your (balcony) garden grow ??

8 Aug

I see RED!

Green Chilli Peppers

and Red Chilli Peppers on the same plant .. is that weird?

 

Aubergines which apparently don't grow in Ireland. Am I a miracle gardener ??

6 Responses to “How does your (balcony) garden grow ??”

  1. Orla August 9, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Apparently- and I just found this out the other day- red chillies start green and turn red when they are ready. At least that’s what I’m hoping as I planted seeds I dried from a red chilli and the ones on the plant are green!!! Your loot looks amazing!

    • Sarah-Jane August 9, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      The strange thing is that there are loads of large green chillies … and then some small red ones! I’ll be watching this chameleon like behaviour carefully!
      I love growing veggies , can’t wait to grow up and have a house and be able to grow more and more. I’ve eaten a few little tomatoes and they are delish, taste so much better than anything I could buy.. makes have no space on my balcony worthwhile.

      • graciesbakes August 10, 2011 at 9:31 am #

        That is interesting. I only have long green ones on mine. Which I don’t particularly like as they are too bitter for me. (Same with bell peppers)
        I am still waiting for my tomatoes to redden up. They keep falling off the shelf I have in the garden for them. May have something to do with it.
        Love growing veggies too. Saves a fortune when they are in season!

      • Sarah-Jane August 18, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

        I hate the green peppers .. always leave them til last in the multipacks, then make the boyf eat them. One of the few veggies I can’t stand. I’ll keep you posted on the strange behaviour of my chillies!

  2. Joanne Hegarty August 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Great work. We have tomatoes in our garden too and I was shocked at how many times they need watering. We also grew courgettes which turned out to marrows. But it is great going out to pick something in the garden rather than having to run down to the shop.

    • Sarah-Jane August 18, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

      Joanne we are both one step closer to self sufficiency! Although in my case one step is all it will be until I have some more outdoor space!
      I grew courgettes when I lived with the girls a few years ago and we couldn’t eat them fast enough so some grew into marrows … I invented a great dish of MarrowLasagne which was basically subbing huge thin slices of marrow for the pasta sheets!
      Low carb and delicious!

Leave a Reply

