Stuffed Courgettes …

8 Aug

I found this great recipe on FoodGawker (yes, I am obsessed) .. I loved the little pumpkin-like courgettes/zucchinis but had never seen any like that in Ireland. So I tweeted about it. Coz that’s what I do. Ya know!!
Lo and behold someone replied to me .. and it was the owner of one of my favourite lunch places TheRunnerBean on Nassau Street (if you have’t had a sambo here .. you should). He grows lots of his own veggies, sent me photo of some little fat courgettes in his polytunnel and kindly sold me 6 of the most suitable ones. Some of them are even stripey .. how cute??!!

Little fat courgettes and an onion from our garden that jumped into the photo.

I didn’t follow the recipe to the letter (surprise surprise) I added in some smoked paprika and lots of other veggies chopped finely ..

Courgettes and a pepper all hollowed out with their lids on!

Stuffed and ready for some oven action.

Not so pretty but the taste was really good.

This is a really tasty dish was gorgeous served with some brown rice and sprinkling of grated cheddar.
Personally I think it looks like a Hallowe’en dish .. which is good as Hallowe’en is my favourite festival! So I have a plan to try and recreate this in a more autumn appropriate way in October. Watch this space-ish!

One Response to “Stuffed Courgettes …”

  1. P Woww August 8, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    adorable! love these!

Leave a Reply

