The Summer’s Over … and Green Tomato Chutney

23 Oct

As the weather gets colder and the days shorter my mind always turns to comforting foods, especially those from my childhood which my Mam would cook for what seemed like all day long in huge saucepans on the Rayburn stove in our kitchen.

Beef or lamb stews served with potatoes and tomato ketchup (not a daily condiment by any means but a firm favourite), pearl barley would have swelled in the sauce and given it a lovely nutty texture .. I would literally lick my plate as every last morsel was so tasty.
Chicken curry with rice, sliced banana on top “to take the heat out” in reality there was no heat at all compared to what I eat now but I still love banana with curry.
Roast chicken slices with buttery carrotts and luscious gravy made from meat juices.
Beautifully pink roast lamb with mint sauce from a jar served with carrot and parsnip mash.
Homemade chips, chunky and crunchy served for the ultimate treat in the sitting room while watching Gladiators. We’d make chip sandwiches (buttys were unknown in 80’s Wicklow) with “shop” bread and again my childhood favourite tomato ketchup!

My aim for this winter is to recreate some of those fabulous tastes of my childhood, more on that to come.

This week though my project has been one of waste avoidance, I abhor waste especially where food is concerned so when the time came to throw out my beloved tomato plants I couldn’t bare to discard the tomatoes that hadn’t ripened so after much reading of recipes I decided to try Green Tomato Chutney.
The original inspiration came from a GIY mailshot, so I used some elements of this recipe along with others from Nigel Slater’s recipe and then did my usual thing and tweeked it a bit more (more due to not having some ingredients rather than any expertise!)

Weighing the tomatoes … have a look at the really unusual shaped ones!

Some of the last chillies from my plant .. I’ll miss having them growing out on the balcony and being so handy.

Saucepan was pretty full when all the ingredients went in … luckily it started to boil down quickly!

Jars ready for sterilising ..

Pouring chutney into sterilised jars … my Nigella moment in my dressing gown!!

I will now leave the chutney to mature for at least a month before tasting … I’m hoping to secure some of my Mam’s homemade cheese for the taste test.

SJ x

2 Responses to “The Summer’s Over … and Green Tomato Chutney”

  1. Orla October 24, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    This looks great. I had 4 tomatoes on my plant so no chutney for me!!
    And total blast from the past mentioning Gladiators!!!

    • SJ October 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      That’s a shame Orla, my parents plants were a total failure this year too but I was really lucky the 2 on my balcony were fantastic and the MIL’s garden had a great crop too although allot didn’t ripen.
      Gladiators was mandatory watching in our house, followed by Blind Date!

Leave a Reply

