Flipper’s Friends

2 May

While sitting on a bench by the Swan River this evening I thought all the talk of Sharks here in WA had gone to my head as I saw a fin and a splash!

Luckily my mind is not gone although my identification of sealife is a little off. It was a dolphin, actually two dolphins.

*SQUEEEEE*

A childhood of watching Flipper after school was not wasted on me … I knew these critters are special and can solve all sorts of problems!

We followed them along as they swam right by the shore, diving and re-emerging and at one stage tossing a big fish in the air. It was fantastic. I may have been a bit excited causing one passer by to comment “Jeez, I thought she was going to dive in!” .. Look, we don’t have dolphins in Wicklow*!

I’ve seen dolphins before but only while actively looking for them, I’ve never been taken by surprise by one before and I have to say it made my day!

Have a little look at our superb videography and see for yourself …

Dolphins in the Swan River, South Perth

More dolphins

If you’re looking for me I’ll be down by the river waiting for my friends to come back so we can solve a few mysteries ..

SJ x

* My lovely Aunty Kathy just informed me she spotted a dolphin between Bray and Greystones last week! Not that I blame the dolphins it is a beautiful part of Ireland, the Garden if you will.  She didn’t produce any videographic evidence but I’ll still give her the benefit of the doubt, being family an’all.

For any non Irish readers that I may have Wicklow is on the east coast of Ireland, south of Dublin its known as the Garden of Ireland and was the birth place of such notable figures as Charles Stewart Parnell and my good self. Its lovely you should go and visit.

4 Responses to “Flipper’s Friends”

  1. Mellie Lang May 2, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Well I have just moved to Perth and I will be sooo excited when I see Dolphins too, I missed them today, apparently they we’re in Freo port too. Glad I found your blog post & the dolphins made your day 😉

    • Sarah-Jane May 2, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      Hi Mellie
      I am delighted you found my blog too! I’ve heard there are loads of dolphins in Freo and sharks too. I usually walk along the river and do the 10k loop about 4 times a week so I will be looking out for the dolphins all the time now.
      Hope you are getting settled in,
      SJ x

  2. Taf May 23, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Nice blog SJ! Loads of Dolphins around the coast of Cork, as used often see them when boat fishing, plus the odd basking shark. I presume that they are all around the Irish coast, but you would need to be on a boat to see them, so you may need to take up fishing!

    • Sarah-Jane May 23, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      It seems I am rather uneducated about the sea life of my own country, for shame! Perhaps I will take up fishing ..although my chronic sea sickness might not play ball on that one 😉

Leave a Reply

