Wagamama – Subiaco, Perth

21 May

I love Japanese food, in fact most asian food I’ve ever tasted has appealed to me but Wagamama and Yamamori were often called upon in Dublin to save me from hangovers that threatened my life … and rarely let me down!

Waga’s chilli chicken ramen was always a firm favourite but I also loved the noodle dishes, juices and even the thought of the tempura fish bento boxes in Yamamori make my mouth water!

So you can imagine how delighted I was to discover a Wagamama here in Perth, its situated in Subiaco which is a great suburb with lots of shops, bars, markets that’s always buzzy. We headed over on Saturday to the Subi Farmer’s Market but I got the times totally wrong and we missed it! Luckily we also had lunch on the agenda too.

I am giving the prices here purely out of interest, Perth is more expensive than Ireland but its a booming economy with higher wages so its to be expected.

As anyone who has eaten in Wagamama knows the food comes when ready and not all at the same time – it works really well for us as we love to share but perhaps not the ideal location for a first (awkward) date!

 

We ordered:

2 Sides

Chilli soft shell crab ($9.80)
soft shell crab coated with panko breadcrumbs then deep-fried and seasoned with sea salt and shichimi. served with a ginger and garlic vinegar

Tebasaki ($9.20)
chicken wings marinated with ginger and sake then deep fried. served on crisp salad drizzled with soy miring, sake and white sesame seeds

2 Mains

Chilli chicken ramen ($19.80)
noodles in a chicken soup topped with a marinated grilled chicken breast, fresh chillies, sliced red onions, beansprouts, coriander, spring onions and a wedge of lime

Ostunaaji beef salad ($8.90)
beef tenderloin marinated in cumin, aniseed and ginger stir-fried with caramelised red onions, sweet potato, red chillies, eggplant, mint and red capsicum in a coriander, lime and soy dressing. served on a bed of baby spinach and chinese cabbage. garnished with fried shallots

The food was all really delicious.

The soft shell crab was really crispy with a great chilli kick!

In the tebasaki there were only two small “wings” which I didn’t feel was a big enough portion for the price but what was there was delicious.

My beef salad was gorgeous, the meat was well cooked whereas my preference would always be rare but it was full of flavour and I love that there are salads on the menu here which are not in the Irish restaurants, I look forward to working my way through them all!

The chilli chicken ramen is always a really generous portion and did not dissappoint.

Service was efficient and friendly, its a lovely location & an advantage of living here is that we could eat outside on the deck overlooking the main street in Autumn!

With one beer the bill came to $67.60 (approx €53).

I am already looking forward to going back!

 

SJ x

 

2 Responses to “Wagamama – Subiaco, Perth”

  1. Aoife Hurley May 31, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Fab blog Sarah Jane makes me wanna go to Perth just for the food ( and a glass of vino with urself n himself of course) keep em coming very enjoyable read.
    Aoife 😊x

    • Sarah-Jane June 1, 2012 at 3:08 am #

      You’ll have to come visit, bring your own buckfast though πŸ˜‰ xx

Leave a Reply

