Perth Zoo … literally 214 steps from my front door (approx)

23 May


I love going to the zoo, in fact myself and the boyf went on our first “daytime activity” (read: sober) date to Dublin Zoo way back in 2006 and have visited it at least once a year since. Dublin Zoo is so lovely these days and not at all like when I was a child .. no unhappy animals in squishy enclosures and lots of tree lined pathways and places to sit, have a picnic, get a cuppa, relax! The only negative is the lack of decent food outlets – a picnic is definitely a better option but hopefully in time they can improve that too. If you’re in Ireland visit the zoo this year you’ll love it!

When we moved to South Perth I was delighted to realise we are right beside Perth Zoo, I wasn’t sure how good it would be though as I have walked/ran around it and it doesn’t seem that large .. its not set in a huge green area like the Phoenix Park but instead its in the middle of a residential area, 10 minute walk from the Mends Street jetty and easily accessible by bus or car. Last Sunday we decided it was time to check it out so off we went, it took us 5 minutes at most to get there, it’s $22/adult and $1 for a map. We skipped the map and decided to just follow the paths, this worked out really well and we stopped once a while to check out the large maps posted around the zoo and were delighted to see we had managed perfectly well without the map! I felt somewhat like an intrepid explorer 😉

Perth Zoo is gorgeous! Its green, pretty, peaceful, well laid out and uses the relatively small space very well. We spent 3 hours there and could have spent a lot longer, we had to leave as it was closing so the next time we will go earlier in the day and catch some of the feeding times .. penguins at 1 and I think elephants at 10am.
Speaking of elephants .. I was ridiculously excited (ridiculously!) when I looked ahead of me and here was an elephant!!! Her name is Trisha and the zookeepers walk her around the zoo a couple of times a day! It was lovely and everyone stood by taking photos and abiding by the requests of the zoo not to touch her (I love how Australians abide by rules, its a really attractive quality of this country). Some of the animals are quite free to roam around for example we got really close to a large grey kangaroo and a little wallaby!
I also saw two mice which frightened the bejaypers out of me .. as you’ll know from my Rottnest post I am not a rodent fan!

Here are a few of the best photos we took!

4 Responses to “Perth Zoo … literally 214 steps from my front door (approx)”

  1. byroisinhealy May 23, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Such good pics! Can’t beat a good zoo!

    • Sarah-Jane May 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

      I totally agree, its such a lovely day out 🙂

  2. Fluffandfripperies May 25, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Lovely photos! xo

    • Sarah-Jane May 27, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

