Christmassy Time

19 Dec

Christmas is fast approaching .. although it feels nothing like it to me as the sun is shining, I’m thousands of miles from my family and no one has asked me what I am doing for New Years today yet!
However I am doing my best to create a Christmassy feel for us so I’ve decorated our little abode,  while deciding on a theme I had toyed with something understated and tasteful like this …..

Chic Christmas TreeHowever I don’t do understated particularly well and the Christmas feeling needs a bit of help this year so I went for  “All Out Tacky” instead!

2012_12_05_14_42_339726240938784123_4945572_Hudson 2012_12_13_12_01_345443233755100562_4945572_X-Pro III have baubles hanging from every spare wall space and have taken to wearing this around the house, do you think it makes my ears look big?

Elf hat I’ve even explored my crafty side (if I have one!) and crocheted some decorations .. I started with a star

Crochet star

Progressed a little better with some Christmas trees …

Christmas tree crochet And eventually had something worthy of hanging on the wall …

2012_12_17_06_03_348162262391387407_4945572_RiseI hadn’t crocheted since I was in primary school but once I had watched a couple of simple tutorials on youtube I was flying at it again. I used this pattern for the bunting trees and this one for the star. I found the abbreviations and the different names for the stitches confusing at times but this link was really helpful in that.

So our first Christmas in the heat is nearly upon us (I spent one other Christmas in Australia in 2004. I was in Melbourne, it rained, I was miserable!) We are hosting a dinner party on Sunday, turkey with all the trimmings is the plan and our guests are all either Irish or English and away from their families so everyone is invited to bring along a family tradition. I am doing carrot and parsnip puree as we always have it and Dave’s Mum makes the most delicious potato stuffing so we are going to attempt to recreate that (hopefully the awful Australian potatoes won’t be a spanner in the works) we have even been cultivating two thyme plants especially! Our English friend is making Bread Sauce, I have absolutely no idea what this is and am very intrigued to find out. I’ve ditched mulled wine in favour of this chilled cocktail from food blogger Katie Quinn Davies (she’s Irish living in Australia so its appropriate). It should be a fun food-filled evening!

Xmas cocktail

On Christmas Day itself we shall be with my lovely Irish-Aussie cousins experiencing Christmas on the beach eating a BBtQ’d turkey with salad. Its forecast to be 38 degrees so there’s a good chance there will be very little eating but heaps of sitting in the shade melting done!

The postie has delivered lots of exciting pakcages in the last few days, most with strict instructions not to open until the 25th … but I had a peek at one or two and I am glad I did as we now that this adorable decoration on our tree …

Santa boot dec

In case we forget where we are I have also placed some exotic flowers around the place … gorgeous aren’t they?

2012_11_26_06_06_332943683723261146_4945572_X-Pro II

Only 6 more sleeps til Santa arrives ….

What are you all up to for Christmas? Any unusual family traditions? In our house we call it “Eat Yourself into a Coma Day” … I’ll miss that

SJ xx

16 Responses to “Christmassy Time”

  1. Carol-Anne December 19, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I love your bunting. It’s gorgeous! I’ll be thinking of you both on Xmas day. I hope you have a wonderful feast on Sunday and enjoy the traditional Aussie Xmas day BBQ.

    • Sarah-Jane December 19, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

      Merry Christmas to you both too, I hope you have a lovely time at home and lots of love and luck for 2013 🙂 x

  2. Susan December 19, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Love your crochet trees Janey :). I am soooo looking forward to the big day in Sally’s – you and Jenny will be missed but we’ll try to overcome that. My favourite Christmas foods are sausage meat and stuffing. Mam made the most amazing stuffing – but I think everybody believes their mam’s is the best! Give Av and Bryan a big christmas hug from me and if Saoirse is there tell her I am still in love with her. Have a fabuloous Christmas xxx susan

    • Sarah-Jane December 19, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      I loved Granny’s stuffing but you’re right I do think Mam’s is the best! I’ll give your regards to the Henders, hopefully we can get a skype organised for the big day, Merry Christmas x

  3. Taf December 19, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    Love the crochet xmas trees as well, but they remind me of magic mushrooms a bit. Also love the snow flakes floating across some of your pictures.

    • Sarah-Jane December 19, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      Billy you’re a gas man, I’ll have to take your word for it on the magic mushrooms! The snowflakes are fun, I set it up last year and it automatically started again on December 1st .. not really relevant when I am over here but I like it! I believe you are soon to be a Godfather, congrats. Merry Christmas to you all x

  4. Sinaoife Dolan December 19, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Love reading you Sarah Jane, x,

    • Sarah-Jane December 19, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      Thanks Sinaoife x

  5. Kathy Hoctor December 19, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Fab article SarahJane – I have been off for a few days and have been doing ironing and Christmas stuff. Cranberry sauce – spiced beef – stuffing -cinnamon shortbread! So glad we are going to Sally’s cos it has given me time to enjoy the things I like doing the most. We will miss you and Dave and Jenny on Christmas day but it is great to know you are with Avril!!

    • Sarah-Jane December 19, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      Kathy that all sounds lovely although I have to admit I was never a fan of spiced beef, being forced to taste it each New Years Day in Granny’s only served to turn me against it unfortunately! Sally’s house on Christmas Day will be so much fun and sooo tasty, hopefully we can arrange a skype while everyone is there, Merry Christmas Love SJ xx

  6. pineapplepancake December 19, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    I loved our Christmas dinner on Coogee beach two years ago. I went for a swim afterwards to work off that big dinner!
    Our dinner tradition is to start with smoked salmon & salad or else melon slices. I prefer melon as it whets the appetite for the main course! You can also do melon balls soaked in malibu (but that would be very bold!)

    • Sarah-Jane December 20, 2012 at 6:45 am #

      A swim would be lovely after a big meal however after 16 tiger sharks were sighted off Trig beach yesterday I am more than a little hesitant to feed myself up then launch into their feeding ground, I’d make some shark’s Christmas lunch a very good one!
      I love smoked salmon, we always have it with scrambled eggs for breakfast on Christmas Day .. its delish especially when washed down with a glass of bucks fizz. We sure are classy!
      Those boozy melon balls look good .. I might have to give them a whirl.
      Thanks a mil for commenting and I love your blog, keep it up. Have a very Merry Christmas xxx

  7. Babaduck December 19, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    Aw babes, who am I going to talk to in Tesco on Christmas Eve with me looking like the Wreck of the Hesperous? I will miss you millions and billions.
    p.s. I am a lazy article & bought my bread sauce in Marks this evening. Ru hates it but it’s not all about him to be honest… it’s all about MEEEEEEEEEEEEE

    • Sarah-Jane December 20, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      Aaaaawww Aoife I never meet anyone I know in the supermarket here 😦 And you never look anything less than divine! Well, if you are going to go the convenient route you can’t do much better than M&S! I am so intrigued about how bread can be made into a sauce. Have a great Christmas my dear and wishing yourself and himself lots of love and happiness in 2013 xxx

  8. Paula December 20, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Your Christmases of old sound remarkably like my own. Love the crochet bunting – watch out Kirstie Allsopp! My favourite things about Christmas are breakfast, watching people open the presents I got them, forkfuls of turkey, gravy, stuffing, cranberry and carrot and parsnip mash. Will miss you terribly on the big day and beyond but will send regular photos of the goings-on. Love you millions xxxx

    • Sarah-Jane December 20, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

      You’d swear we had spent 28 Christmases together! I will miss you too and your lumpy, I mean lovely potatoes. Love you loads xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

