Helloooo 2013!

10 Jan

Pinterest NY Fireplace

Happy New Year everyone,

The first ten days of the new year have been lovely so long may that continue. Here in Perth there was a heatwave over Christmas and New Year and I found myself longing for bitterly cold weather, the grass is always greener on the other side!

Christmas was really lovely, both our big dinners were lots of fun. Bread sauce was a revelation and I will be attempting to recreate it at some point in the future, a pot luck dinner party is a really great idea as everyone shares the stress and there are lots of different and new foods to try. On Christmas Day we had a delish dinner with my relatives in the evening both the turkey and ham were cooked on the BBQ then served with roast potatoes and an array of hot and cold salads. The pudding was lit and served later on in the evening and it was a lovely relaxed day over all with a nice swim in the ocean before dinner. A success over all! I received some beautiful gifts which I will do a post on soon, two new cookbooks if you don’t mind along with lots of other great stuff!

New Year’s Eve was spent drinking french champagne with our lovely neighbours by the pool, it was so hot that we had to keep jumping into the water to prevent spontaneous combustion or melting! There weren’t any fireworks as I had thought, it seems Perth does a huge display on Australia Day which is January 26th so NYE is a more low key affair in the skies!

I would imagine I am similar to lots of people with new year’s resolutions to eat healthier, lose weight, do more exercise and drink less! My plan is to set myself a challenge each month as I feel a month is doable. So this year I am embarking on a Dry January inspired by the lovely EnglishMum. So far so good … although the hot evenings are not helping as I would love nothing more than a glass of white wine by the pool but I’m holding firm! I am going to break it for Australia Day though, my reasoning being if you are allowed to break lent for St Patrick’s Day then its only fair. When in Rome …

My plan for both February and March is to eliminate sugar from my diet. I’m spending this month reading up on it and slowly getting prepared food wise … so once I know exactly what I am at I will share the details. For anyone interested in trying this Sarah Wilson’s Blog is a good place to begin.

Pinterest 1

So how was everyone’s Christmas and New Year?? Any exciting new year’s resolutions?

Any suggestions as to what I should do per month after March,with a health benefit? All suggestion gratefully received 🙂

Here’s to a healthy and happy 2013

SJxx

5 Responses to “Helloooo 2013!”

  1. Paula January 10, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    I’m reading more books, doing a wine course and saving more! I love a New Year, it’s a great time to start a clean slate and forget anything negative from last year. I will not be giving up sugar anytime soon though…I love it and it loves me.

    • Sarah-Jane January 10, 2013 at 9:25 am #

      Great resolutions Paula,
      When I’m being mistaken for Lizzy Jagger we’ll see how you feel about going sugar free!!
      Xx

  2. Idoody50 January 10, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    Love your.one month only resolution idea. How about trying to gluten free for a month, since av will have all the info anyway. I think I’m going to try it sometime this year. And there is no gluten in wine 😉 . On a serious note I’m updating my will (I know, it sounds like tempting fate), going to Korea and otherwise shopping local to support jobs in Ennis.

    • Sarah-Jane January 10, 2013 at 10:34 am #

      Gluten free is another good one, I eat very little wheat anyway but it would be a good challenge to go totally off it – I’ll pencil it in for April!
      Good resolutions can’t wait to hear about Korea take lots of photos of the food! Have you had kimchi before? It’s fermented cabbage and really good!

  3. siuners January 10, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Sounds good SJ! I’m trying to focus on my passions, mostly writing and reading. It’s cheap and good for me! Best of luck with yours, sugar free seems to be the way to go x

Leave a Reply

